DigiFreq: Home | MusicTechShop | Downloads (Free Music Software) | Videos | Music | Tips | Articles | Newsletter (FREE) | Deals | Gift Shop | Issues | Recommend | News | Reviews | Discuss (Forums) | Contest | RSS Feed
*** Win FREE music recording software and hardware... Click Here! ***
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq - Forums
Home | Profile | Register | New Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 New Topics List
 All Forums
 Unofficial Manufacturer Forums
 Cakewalk Music Software
 Cakewalk SONAR Pro Channel Presets
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Paul G
Member

55 Posts

Posted - 12/08/2012 :  2:19:51 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  [Reply to Topic]  | [Reply w/ Quote]
New to X1 and I've got a question about the Pro Channel presets. From what I can gather, presets are opened or saved for the entire channels' settings and I cannot save presets for the individual components, (EQ, Compressor etc.). To me this appears to be counter productive.

If I have an EQ setting that I want on a track and I bring it in via a preset, I'd have to go back and reset the other plugins. It looks like I'm being forced to manually set all the various components of the PC for every track, every time, until I've amassed enough PC presets to cover the different tracks and options I might use in a project. (We're not talking about tweaking here but a starting point).

Here's another scenario: I have my PC set just how I want it but then decide to try a different compressor preset. I can't just bring in a compressor preset. I have to bring in a PC preset and there goes my previous settings.

I understand that we're moving toward hardware and console type emulations but if in doing so, we loose the convenience of the DAW, (presets), That seems to be going backwards.

This is looking very tedious to me. What am I missing? Any comments welcome. Thanks.



Intel i7930 OC to 3.36GHz, Win7 Pro (x64), 6GB Ram
500GB OS, 1TB Audio, 1TB Samples, Delta 66 Omni, Sonar X1 EXP

http://www.thebrothersglaser.com/
Report to Moderator

garrigus
Moderator

USA
14514 Posts

Posted - 12/08/2012 :  2:59:10 PM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Paul,

Unfortunately, you're not missing anything and it hasn't changed in X2 either. Hopefully, they will add that feature. I know users are asking for it, so I hope it'll only be a matter of time, but no official word.

In the meantime, you have to save the entire Pro Channel as a preset.

Scott

--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://www.garrigus.com
* Cakewalk SONAR Video Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/ScottGarrigus?sub_confirmation=1
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Publisher of the DigiFreq music recording newsletter: http://www.digifreq.com/
* Publisher of the NewTechReview consumer tech newsletter: http://www.newtechreview.com/
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Paul G
Member

55 Posts

Posted - 12/08/2012 :  3:19:05 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by garrigus

Hi Paul,

Unfortunately, you're not missing anything and it hasn't changed in X2 either. Hopefully, they will add that feature. I know users are asking for it, so I hope it'll only be a matter of time, but no official word.

In the meantime, you have to save the entire Pro Channel as a preset.

Scott




Hi Scott. Thanks for replying. I did get a response over at the Cake forums and they're saying that I can at least copy the EQ from one PC to another by Ctrl click/dragging from plot to plot in the console view. I'm going to try it out.

I guess I'm just going to have to rework my methods.


Intel i7930 OC to 3.36GHz, Win7 Pro (x64), 6GB Ram
500GB OS, 1TB Audio, 1TB Samples, Delta 66 Omni, Sonar X1 EXP

http://www.thebrothersglaser.com/

Edited by - Paul G on 12/08/2012 3:20:36 PM
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

garrigus
Moderator

USA
14514 Posts

Posted - 12/09/2012 :  09:43:54 AM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Yeah, hopefully they'll add module presets in a future update.

Scott

--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://www.garrigus.com
* Cakewalk SONAR Video Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/ScottGarrigus?sub_confirmation=1
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Publisher of the DigiFreq music recording newsletter: http://www.digifreq.com/
* Publisher of the NewTechReview consumer tech newsletter: http://www.newtechreview.com/
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topics List
All Forums
Unofficial Manufacturer Forums
Cakewalk Music Software
Cakewalk SONAR Pro Channel Presets
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Jump To:
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq - Forums © 1999-2017 by Scott R. Garrigus. All Rights Reserved. Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000
DigiFreq: Home | MusicTechShop | Downloads (Free Music Software) | Videos | Music | Tips | Articles | Newsletter (FREE) | Deals | Gift Shop | Issues | Recommend | News | Reviews | Discuss (Forums) | Contest | RSS Feed

DigiFreq is for informational purposes only. - Disclosure Statement