DigiFreq: Home | MusicTechShop | Downloads (Free Music Software) | Videos | Music | Tips | Articles | Newsletter (FREE) | Deals | Gift Shop | Issues | Recommend | News | Reviews | Discuss (Forums) | Contest | RSS Feed
*** Win FREE music recording software and hardware... Click Here! ***
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq - Forums
Home | Profile | Register | New Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 New Topics List
 All Forums
 Unofficial Manufacturer Forums
 Cakewalk Music Software
 Windows 7 and Sonar 7 Audio Problem
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

dpittman
New Member

USA
10 Posts

Posted - 06/16/2012 :  08:05:54 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  [Reply to Topic]  | [Reply w/ Quote]
I recently upgraded my operating system from Vista to Windows 7 Home Premium. I'm running Sonar 7 using an Echo 3G Layla sound card. I have the latest drivers. I record audio using a Rode microphone. Since the upgrade I have been unable to record any audio nor playback any existing audio which was recorded prior to the upgrade. I get the following error message when Sonar starts to open.
The following driver(s) either do not support the current audio format, or are in use by another application. Please choose whether you want to disable them or use them anyway. All the driver names are then listed. Then you have two boxes with the option to "disable" or "use anyway".
I've checked everything that I can think of. Has anyone experienced this problem and if they have what was the solution to it? I certainly would appreciate any help anyone could give me.


Report to Moderator

Old Goat
Silver Member

583 Posts

Posted - 06/16/2012 :  08:19:03 AM  Show Profile  Visit Old Goat's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I'm not sure if HS7 will run in W7. Sonar 8.5 was the first to be optimised for W7. I think.

I went from HS6XL and XP to SE8.5 and W7 64 bit, and it was a bumpy ride. Good now, but not an easy transition.

Good luck.

www.soundcloud.com/edwardnull
http://www.cdbaby.com/Artist/EdwardNull
ASCAP
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

dpittman
New Member

USA
10 Posts

Posted - 06/16/2012 :  08:45:22 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Old Goat

I'm not sure if HS7 will run in W7. Sonar 8.5 was the first to be optimised for W7. I think.

I went from HS6XL and XP to SE8.5 and W7 64 bit, and it was a bumpy ride. Good now, but not an easy transition.

Good luck.



Thanks for the reply. You may be correct but I sure hope you're not. It's hard to believe I can record midi tracks perfectly but can't get the audio side to work. Proves to be an interesting process which I could definitely live without.
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

garrigus
Moderator

USA
14510 Posts

Posted - 06/16/2012 :  09:35:25 AM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Don,

That's a driver mode problem. In SONAR, choose Options > Audio. Click the Advanced tab and then try using a different Driver Mode. The best one to use is ASIO. If that doesn't work, try WDM. If that doesn't work, try MME, however this is a very old mode and will not allow you to play virtual instruments or monitor fx in real-time.

Scott

--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://www.garrigus.com
* Cakewalk SONAR Video Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/ScottGarrigus?sub_confirmation=1
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Publisher of the DigiFreq music recording newsletter: http://www.digifreq.com/
* Publisher of the NewTechReview consumer tech newsletter: http://www.newtechreview.com/
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

dpittman
New Member

USA
10 Posts

Posted - 06/16/2012 :  09:52:50 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by garrigus

Hi Don,

That's a driver mode problem. In SONAR, choose Options > Audio. Click the Advanced tab and then try using a different Driver Mode. The best one to use is ASIO. If that doesn't work, try WDM. If that doesn't work, try MME, however this is a very old mode and will not allow you to play virtual instruments or monitor fx in real-time.

Scott





Gee, Scott. Thanks so much. That seems to have fixed that problem. Now I'm getting a "dropout" error when I play back audio. Seems I've experienced this problem before but I can't remember what I did to fix it. Your help has alwyas been so appreciated.
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

garrigus
Moderator

USA
14510 Posts

Posted - 06/17/2012 :  11:01:00 AM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Don,

It sounds like you may need to raise the latency. What Driver Mode are you using?

Scott

--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://www.garrigus.com
* Cakewalk SONAR Video Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/ScottGarrigus?sub_confirmation=1
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Publisher of the DigiFreq music recording newsletter: http://www.digifreq.com/
* Publisher of the NewTechReview consumer tech newsletter: http://www.newtechreview.com/
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Jim Sturm
Moderator

USA
714 Posts

Posted - 06/17/2012 :  11:04:00 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Depends on the driver mode you're using. If ASIO, try increasing the buffer size. If not, increase the latency slider.

Lot's of things cause dropouts, depending on your system/hardware. Start troubleshooting by first finding out if increasing the latency corrects the problem (yes, you will see increased 'delay' - latency.)

-Jim

Old Dog... New Tricks!
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

dpittman
New Member

USA
10 Posts

Posted - 06/17/2012 :  2:29:36 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by garrigus

Hi Don,

It sounds like you may need to raise the latency. What Driver Mode are you using?

Scott





Scott and Jim, thanks for your continued interest in my problem. Right now I attempting to use ASIO for the driver mode with triangular dithering and 2048 samples for the buffer size. The mixing latency slider, of course, is grayed out using the ASIO mode. Changing to the ASIO mode corrected my original problem but I'm still experiencing the dropout problem. Also, I can start a playback and the audio appears to be fine. Stop it and start it back and it's changed the pitch. This is a complete new one on me. All of my current audio was recorded with a sampling rate of 44100.

Hardware wise I'm using a Dell computer running a 2.40Ghz Core Duo processor with 2Gb of ram, 32bit, and a Echo3G Layla sound card.

I feel privileged to have two experts trying to assist me. I acknowledge that I should spend at least as much time attempting to educate myself on Sonar as I do playing music.
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

garrigus
Moderator

USA
14510 Posts

Posted - 06/18/2012 :  09:51:27 AM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Don,

Have you tried the WDM driver mode?

Scott

--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://www.garrigus.com
* Cakewalk SONAR Video Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/ScottGarrigus?sub_confirmation=1
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Publisher of the DigiFreq music recording newsletter: http://www.digifreq.com/
* Publisher of the NewTechReview consumer tech newsletter: http://www.newtechreview.com/
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

dpittman
New Member

USA
10 Posts

Posted - 06/18/2012 :  11:00:38 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by garrigus

Hi Don,

Have you tried the WDM driver mode?

Scott






Hi Scott,
As a matter of fact I have tried the WDM mode and I get the original error I started with. The following driver(s) either do not support the current audio format, or are in use by another application. Please choose whether you want to disable them or use them anyway. All the driver names are then listed. Then you have two boxes with the option to "disable" or "use anyway". Also in the WDM mode, playback will not even start. The third mode is unsuccessful also. Rather hard to believe that the latest drivers for W7 or the Echo card would cause you to only be able to select one mode. I'm beginning to think I should possibly just go back to a cassette recorder. Thanks for your continued help.
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

garrigus
Moderator

USA
14510 Posts

Posted - 06/18/2012 :  11:46:16 AM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Don,

Unfortunately, this may be a problem with trying to run SONAR 7 on Windows 7. I'm not sure though.

I think you may need to try contacting Cakewalk tech support to see if they can provide any help.

Scott

--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://www.garrigus.com
* Cakewalk SONAR Video Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/ScottGarrigus?sub_confirmation=1
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Publisher of the DigiFreq music recording newsletter: http://www.digifreq.com/
* Publisher of the NewTechReview consumer tech newsletter: http://www.newtechreview.com/
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

otto
Platinum Member

2728 Posts

Posted - 06/18/2012 :  2:26:57 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
It's not a bad jump to upgrade from 7 at this point.
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topics List
All Forums
Unofficial Manufacturer Forums
Cakewalk Music Software
Windows 7 and Sonar 7 Audio Problem
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Jump To:
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq - Forums © 1999-2017 by Scott R. Garrigus. All Rights Reserved. Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000
DigiFreq: Home | MusicTechShop | Downloads (Free Music Software) | Videos | Music | Tips | Articles | Newsletter (FREE) | Deals | Gift Shop | Issues | Recommend | News | Reviews | Discuss (Forums) | Contest | RSS Feed

DigiFreq is for informational purposes only. - Disclosure Statement