DigiFreq: Home | MusicTechShop | Downloads (Free Music Software) | Videos | Music | Tips | Articles | Newsletter (FREE) | Deals | Gift Shop | Issues | Recommend | News | Reviews | Discuss (Forums) | Contest | RSS Feed
*** Win FREE music recording software and hardware... Click Here! ***
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq - Forums
Home | Profile | Register | New Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 New Topics List
 All Forums
 Unofficial Manufacturer Forums
 Cakewalk Music Software
 MIDI Record Weirdness...Delayed & Scrambled (!@#%?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

mark4man
Member

82 Posts

Posted - 12/01/2011 :  2:25:16 PM  Show Profile  Visit mark4man's Homepage  Reply with Quote  [Reply to Topic]  | [Reply w/ Quote]
yo again...

so...I'm recording the MIDI Output of my new Roland TD-9's into a couple of SONAR projects...& in the first project...I noticed that the recorded sequence was delayed. so I played it back (in session drummer)...& it sounded great...[but...it was obviously out of tempo w/ the remainder of the project's tracks].

then, in the second project...not only was sequence late...the MIDI notes sounded like they were randomly scrambled (like a 4 year old sat down at the kit & played).

my MIDI interface is an M-Audio MIDISPORT 4X4...(which always seemed to work well in the past). it's connected to my audio pc via usb.

so...i'm thinking:

A) [noticing that the official M-Audio designation is missing from my device selection list...(now reading 'usb device' as opposed to 'M-Audio blah blah')]...I need to reinstall the M-Audio Driver...???...(which I'll try now & report back this afternoon).

B) on the scrambled MIDI note thing...has anyone ever experienced that...??? could it be that session drummer got set up on a different octave for that project; & is outputting different drum components for the correct notes...??? if the notes are actually scrambled...what on earth could cause that...???

C) how 'bout the Roland TD-9's MIDI Output...that couldn't be screwed up, could it...???

thanx,


mark4man









ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012
Report to Moderator

garrigus
Moderator

USA
14512 Posts

Posted - 12/01/2011 :  2:42:05 PM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hey Mark,

Congrats on the new Roland TD9! Looks like a nice kit.

No, haven't had this problem before, but yeah, try the MIDI driver reinstall.

Also, you might want to use a process of elimination and try recording MIDI tracks with some other device like a keyboard and see what happens.

Scott

--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://www.garrigus.com
* Cakewalk SONAR Video Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/ScottGarrigus?sub_confirmation=1
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Publisher of the DigiFreq music recording newsletter: http://www.digifreq.com/
* Publisher of the NewTechReview consumer tech newsletter: http://www.newtechreview.com/
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

mark4man
Member

82 Posts

Posted - 12/01/2011 :  6:26:49 PM  Show Profile  Visit mark4man's Homepage  Reply with Quote
thanks scott...

reinstalled the 2009 M-Audio Drivers & it's working fine now [the 2011's were (x86)...& wouldn't install].

so now...the only issue I have is of an audio nature...monitoring via the TD-9's. I have the monitored tracks bleeding into the recorded track (when I also record audio from the TD-9's...my playback tracks are going out of SONAR on 5-6, into the 'Mix In' jack on the TD-9's...my L & R Outputs from the TD-9's are coming into SONAR on 7-8...& even tho I have 7-8 selected as my record source, I have 5-6 in that recorded track.

this has gotta be an internal TD-9 thing, as I checked my AI's config already). gonna open up the roland literature now.

thanx again,


mark4man

ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

garrigus
Moderator

USA
14512 Posts

Posted - 12/02/2011 :  09:26:11 AM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Mark,

Cool... glad that fixed the MIDI.

Not sure about the audio. I have no experience with the TD9, so hopefully, you'll be able to figure that out from the Roland documentation.

Scott

--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://www.garrigus.com
* Cakewalk SONAR Video Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/ScottGarrigus?sub_confirmation=1
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Publisher of the DigiFreq music recording newsletter: http://www.digifreq.com/
* Publisher of the NewTechReview consumer tech newsletter: http://www.newtechreview.com/
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topics List
All Forums
Unofficial Manufacturer Forums
Cakewalk Music Software
MIDI Record Weirdness...Delayed & Scrambled (!@#%?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Jump To:
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq - Forums © 1999-2017 by Scott R. Garrigus. All Rights Reserved. Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000
DigiFreq: Home | MusicTechShop | Downloads (Free Music Software) | Videos | Music | Tips | Articles | Newsletter (FREE) | Deals | Gift Shop | Issues | Recommend | News | Reviews | Discuss (Forums) | Contest | RSS Feed

DigiFreq is for informational purposes only. - Disclosure Statement