DigiFreq: Home | MusicTechShop | Downloads (Free Music Software) | Videos | Music | Tips | Articles | Newsletter (FREE) | Deals | Gift Shop | Issues | Recommend | News | Reviews | Discuss (Forums) | Contest | RSS Feed
*** Win FREE music recording software and hardware... Click Here! ***
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq - Forums
Home | Profile | Register | New Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 New Topics List
 All Forums
 General Discussion Forums
 The DigiFreq Lounge
 Celemony Melodyne
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Spanky
Silver Member

USA
557 Posts

Posted - 03/12/2008 :  02:28:10 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  [Reply to Topic]  | [Reply w/ Quote]
I've been reading an article in EM magazine about creating vocal harmonies using a plug-in called Celemony Melodyne. Is anyone familiar with this?
Can vocal harmonies be created using any of the tools in Sonar such as V-Vocal? With all the pitch shifting and pitch stretching tools available within the program it seems to be a possibility.

Comments?

Thanks,

S~


Report to Moderator

firefox
Gold Member

USA
1459 Posts

Posted - 03/12/2008 :  11:55:16 AM  Show Profile  Visit firefox's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Yes Melodyne is awesome! I use it all the time. If you get it, get the melodyne plug in. You can do it with v-vocal but i've never tried.
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Jim Sturm
Moderator

USA
714 Posts

Posted - 03/12/2008 :  4:18:17 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Ditto firefox. I love the plugin and IMO it not only works the best, it's the easiest to use.

-Jim

Old Dog... New Tricks!
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

garrigus
Moderator

USA
14504 Posts

Posted - 03/14/2008 :  09:53:23 AM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Yes, you can create harmonies with V-Vocal. Just clone the original vocal track and then use V-Vocal on the cloned track to transpose that second vocal. You can create multiple harmony parts by creating more cloned tracks. Of course, all this has to be done manually. There's no automatic feature.

Scott

--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://www.garrigus.com
* Cakewalk SONAR Video Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/ScottGarrigus?sub_confirmation=1
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Publisher of the DigiFreq music recording newsletter: http://www.digifreq.com/
* Publisher of the NewTechReview consumer tech newsletter: http://www.newtechreview.com/
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Beagle
Bronze Member

USA
478 Posts

Posted - 03/15/2008 :  12:21:00 PM  Show Profile  Visit Beagle's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Check this out:

http://www.celemony.com/cms/index.php?id=dna

Q6600 2.4GHz
4G DDR2 RAM
M-audio Delta 44
Sonar 8 PE
Behringer 2031A's
Mackie CR1604
http://www.beaglesound.com
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

billh
Member

USA
28 Posts

Posted - 03/15/2008 :  11:35:03 PM  Show Profile  Visit billh's Homepage  Reply with Quote
And here is the link to the Sonic State news video of Peter N's intro talk at Messe08:

http://www.sonicstate.com/news/shownews.cfm?newsid=6281

Bill H
WX5, S4+, Nanosynth, Plg150VL, Plg150AN, SW1000XG, SC88VL, DS2416, CWPA9
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Spanky
Silver Member

USA
557 Posts

Posted - 03/23/2008 :  6:11:31 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hey all,
Thanks for the input.
I just loaded my new Melodyne program in Sonar 6.
I opened an existing project, highlighted a vocal track and went up to "insert" on the toolbar. From there I chose "softsynths". The Melodyne plugin is nowhere to be found. It should be listed under "VST plugins". I checked the "Plugin Manager" and it's listed there so I clicked on the "add" button to put it under the VST plugin catagory. I saved it. Closed the program and restarted it again.... No Melodyne to be found under VST Plugins in the insert softsynth menu.
What didn't I do?
Thanks for your time and patience.

S~
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

lawapa
Moderator

USA
2106 Posts

Posted - 03/23/2008 :  11:13:02 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I believe you have to run the vst scan to add a new plugin. This will or should add melodyne to your list of VST plugins.

Love to make that music,as well I love to tweak,Make my own sample sets
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Spanky
Silver Member

USA
557 Posts

Posted - 03/24/2008 :  02:22:03 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Larry,
Yes, I ran the scan. The Melodyne shows up under "VST plugins" in the plugin manager dialogue box but not in the "insert" menu when working with a project. For example: I have the NI B4II plugin. When I want to insert the Hammond patches from that I just hit the "insert" button from the top of the toolbar; choose VST plugins and there it is. Then I can use it in the current project. I haven't figured out why the Melodyne doesn't reside there with the B4 and consequently cannot insert it into a vocal track.

S~
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

firefox
Gold Member

USA
1459 Posts

Posted - 03/24/2008 :  09:14:24 AM  Show Profile  Visit firefox's Homepage  Reply with Quote
If it's showing up in your menu it should be there. It might be in your instruments menu instead of effects menu in your channel inserts. Did you check that?

Edited by - firefox on 03/24/2008 09:19:23 AM
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

garrigus
Moderator

USA
14504 Posts

Posted - 03/24/2008 :  09:27:07 AM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Spanky,

I'm pretty sure the Melodyne plug-in needs to be used as an effect, not as a soft synth. You are trying to insert it as a soft synth. Instead, right-click in the Fx bin of an audio track. Does it show up there?

Scott

--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://www.garrigus.com
* Cakewalk SONAR Video Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/ScottGarrigus?sub_confirmation=1
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Publisher of the DigiFreq music recording newsletter: http://www.digifreq.com/
* Publisher of the NewTechReview consumer tech newsletter: http://www.newtechreview.com/
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Spanky
Silver Member

USA
557 Posts

Posted - 03/25/2008 :  03:11:33 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Scott,
Yep.... right you are. Thanks for your help. Thanks all for your replies.

S~
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Spanky
Silver Member

USA
557 Posts

Posted - 03/25/2008 :  03:23:02 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Oh... BTW Scott,
I've been reading your suggestions in SP6 on how to use the plugin manager and customize your plugins into catagories as a quick and very intuitive way of keeping things organized. Great help. I've usually skipped over the "customize" sections of your books in the past to get to the "meat" of things. I Never knew how a little bit of organization can make things go a lot smoother in Sonar and my sessions are a lot more time efficient with your customization suggestions. I've just started to make up my own templates for just about everything I do.
What a time saver! Think I'll read those sections again.
Thanks again.

S~
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

firefox
Gold Member

USA
1459 Posts

Posted - 03/25/2008 :  2:09:54 PM  Show Profile  Visit firefox's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Did you find it? I kinda thought the effects bin would be the first place to look obviously.

Edited by - firefox on 03/25/2008 2:11:39 PM
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Spanky
Silver Member

USA
557 Posts

Posted - 03/26/2008 :  12:14:48 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Did you find it? I kinda thought the effects bin would be the first place to look obviously.


Firefox,
Yeah... found it. I was treating it as a softsynth instead of an effect which it is. The "B4" was listed in the VST plugin menu with the softsynths but of course, it is used as a softsynth so that threw me off.
Thanks for your help.
S~
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

firefox
Gold Member

USA
1459 Posts

Posted - 03/26/2008 :  10:00:40 AM  Show Profile  Visit firefox's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Cool,we're glad you got it. So you messed with it yet.
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page
Page: of 2 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topics List
All Forums
General Discussion Forums
The DigiFreq Lounge
Celemony Melodyne
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Next Page
Jump To:
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq - Forums © 1999-2017 by Scott R. Garrigus. All Rights Reserved. Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000
DigiFreq: Home | MusicTechShop | Downloads (Free Music Software) | Videos | Music | Tips | Articles | Newsletter (FREE) | Deals | Gift Shop | Issues | Recommend | News | Reviews | Discuss (Forums) | Contest | RSS Feed

DigiFreq is for informational purposes only. - Disclosure Statement