DigiFreq: Home | MusicTechShop | Downloads (Free Music Software) | Videos | Music | Tips | Articles | Newsletter (FREE) | Deals | Gift Shop | Issues | Recommend | News | Reviews | Discuss (Forums) | Contest | RSS Feed
*** Win FREE music recording software and hardware... Click Here! ***
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq - Forums
Home | Profile | Register | New Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

New Topics List
 All Forums
 Recording Forums
 Recording Equipment and Instruments
 budget microphone for the studio
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

Fishburn

USA
29 Posts

Posted - 01/17/2008 :  12:27:55 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  [Reply to Topic]  | [Reply w/ Quote]
I am rather new to recording (4 months into it) and I have done a lot of reading and experimenting with the equipment I have now. The equipment I have now consists of a PreSonus Firepod, Presonus Tubepre Sonar 6 Studio, MXL 990/991 Condenser microphones, M-Audio Studiophile AV40 Monitors, Audix i-5, and Shure PG57. I am also reading through Sonar 6 Power! and am learning tons, and tons of things. So, thank you Scott Garrigus.

Okay, now to my main questions.

I am aware that none of my equipment is high-quality (and not even mid-quality). So, what would be some microphones and pre-amps that would be beneficial. My budget is around $2,000 since I am only 17 and have been working hard for 6 months to acquire that money at minimum wage pay :/

I am also aware that it depends on the person and so forth but I am interested in microphones and pre-amps that would aid to bass, vocal, acoustic guitar, etc. Drums not included though.

So please, help me out?

P.S. I have heard good things about Sterling Audio ST77, Shure KSM27 and KSM 44, Electro-voice RE20, Audio-Technica 4050, and Shure SM81. Feedback and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Alex