DigiFreq: Home | MusicTechShop | Downloads (Free Music Software) | Videos | Music | Tips | Articles | Newsletter (FREE) | Deals | Gift Shop | Issues | Recommend | News | Reviews | Discuss (Forums) | Contest | RSS Feed
*** Win FREE music recording software and hardware... Click Here! ***
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq - Forums
Home | Profile | Register | New Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 New Topics List
 All Forums
 Unofficial Manufacturer Forums
 Cakewalk Music Software
 MIDI controller - no sound again
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

Spanky
Silver Member

USA
557 Posts

Posted - 10/25/2007 :  10:02:35 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  [Reply to Topic]  | [Reply w/ Quote]
Yeah, I know... it doesn't make sound; only sends data.

It worked once... now I lost it.

Edirol PCR800 USB MIDI controller
M-Audio Omni i/o
M-Audio Delta 66
M-Audio MIDI Sport 4X4
H/P Pentium D
Event PS 6 monitors
Sonar 6 Producers Edition

Yeah, I know... my settings aren't set up correctly. I've gone through that a few dozen times... got the Power Books etc.
All the demo's play in Sonar... MIDI as well as Audio. Just can't get the keyboard to play any of the SoftSynths right now.

I need a very patient person to take me by the hand and tell me step-by-step how/what to set as MIDI in...MIDI out in Sonar... Delta in out in what menu...etc.etc.etc. I've searched previous posts.. must be something simple... as always.

Yeah, I know... I'm a donkey.
If y'all want to ban me from this board I don't blame ya.

I was using a different keyboard (Roland XP-10)and CPA v.8 for years before finally upgrading to Sonar and the Edirol PCR800.
Had it working when I first got it... maybe I just got lucky.

Thanks from Spanky "the donkey"



Report to Moderator

garrigus
Moderator

USA
14510 Posts

Posted - 10/25/2007 :  10:36:54 AM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hey Mark,

Is your Edirol keyboard connected to your PC using the USB connection or the MIDI connection?

Scott

--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://www.garrigus.com
* Cakewalk SONAR Video Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/ScottGarrigus?sub_confirmation=1
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Publisher of the DigiFreq music recording newsletter: http://www.digifreq.com/
* Publisher of the NewTechReview consumer tech newsletter: http://www.newtechreview.com/
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Spanky
Silver Member

USA
557 Posts

Posted - 10/26/2007 :  03:37:22 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Scott,
I'm connected via USB cable.
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

garrigus
Moderator

USA
14510 Posts

Posted - 10/26/2007 :  09:29:54 AM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Okay, so you installed the drivers for the Edirol, right?

And can you see them listed in the Options > MIDI Devices dialog box?

And do they have checkmarks next them?

And are they available in the input/output menus of each MIDI track?

Scott

--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://www.garrigus.com
* Cakewalk SONAR Video Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/ScottGarrigus?sub_confirmation=1
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Publisher of the DigiFreq music recording newsletter: http://www.digifreq.com/
* Publisher of the NewTechReview consumer tech newsletter: http://www.newtechreview.com/
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Spanky
Silver Member

USA
557 Posts

Posted - 10/26/2007 :  10:14:46 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
MIDI Devices Dialogue box looks like this:

Inputs: Outputs:
In-A USB MidiSport 4X4 Out-A USB MidiSport 4X4
In-B USB MidiSport 4X4 Out-B USB MidiSport 4X4
In-C USB MidiSport 4X4 Out-C USB MidiSport 4X4
In-D USB MidiSport 4X4 Out-D USB MidiSport 4X4
1:EDIROL PCR MIDI IN 1:EDIROL PCR OUT
1:EDIROL PCR 1 1:EDIROL PCR
1:EDIROL PCR2 Microsoft MIDI Mapper

I have everything highlighted (there are no checkmark boxes) EXCEPT the Microsoft MIDI Mapper.

Yes, I have them all available in the properties box of each track.
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

firefox
Gold Member

USA
1459 Posts

Posted - 10/26/2007 :  2:31:10 PM  Show Profile  Visit firefox's Homepage  Reply with Quote
You don't have any of those devices enabled for a control surface do you?
Try Each device listed one at a time until you find which one works.
when you find it only select that one and it'll default on your midi track for input.
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Spanky
Silver Member

USA
557 Posts

Posted - 10/27/2007 :  12:49:33 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Firefox,
Thanks for your reply. There is a dialogue box in Sonar...Controllers/Surfaces, that I have "Edirol M30" listed as my controller. Even though I have the PCR 800, it was recommended that I do that. Should it be left blank? I will try your suggestion of eliminating the driver's one by one when I get home from work tonight. Don't know why I didn't think of that. Thanks.

S~
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

firefox
Gold Member

USA
1459 Posts

Posted - 10/28/2007 :  08:50:19 AM  Show Profile  Visit firefox's Homepage  Reply with Quote
That's the problem, Don't enable it as a controller in "controllers/ surfaces" as it's taking priority over your midi I/O leave everything to "none" That's for control surfaces and such. Your keyboard is already a controller.
NOTE: Download "MIDIOX", a free midi standalone utility Which let's you see if your transmitting and recieving midi data in real time so you'll know if your controller is working in the first place.

Edited by - firefox on 10/28/2007 08:56:52 AM
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Spanky
Silver Member

USA
557 Posts

Posted - 11/28/2007 :  04:43:29 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Anybody want to buy a brand new Edirol PCR 800 MIDI controller keyboard? ...Never been used.

S~
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

garrigus
Moderator

USA
14510 Posts

Posted - 11/28/2007 :  09:07:24 AM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Spanky,

You couldn't get it to work? Bummer. Did you get a different keyboard?

Scott

--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://www.garrigus.com
* Cakewalk SONAR Video Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/ScottGarrigus?sub_confirmation=1
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Publisher of the DigiFreq music recording newsletter: http://www.digifreq.com/
* Publisher of the NewTechReview consumer tech newsletter: http://www.newtechreview.com/
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

firefox
Gold Member

USA
1459 Posts

Posted - 11/28/2007 :  11:48:46 AM  Show Profile  Visit firefox's Homepage  Reply with Quote
like I said download midiox it's free and them you can see if the controllers working as it displays midi data in real time as you hit some keys , move knobs, etc.
had a big problem like that with my new m-audio keystation pro not transmitting data also which made me think the controller was bad too. using midi ox Ifound out Ihad the midi thru button pressed on my m-audio 410 which changes the incomming data somehow and i wasn't getting the data into sonar or pro tools.
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Spanky
Silver Member

USA
557 Posts

Posted - 12/03/2007 :  01:50:27 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
...and round and round we go...
Okay. They let me out of the asylum for the weekend. In response to using Midiox: My MIDI interface (M-Audio MIDIsport 4x4) has led's that respond to MIDI data being input or out. I've been messing with this stuff all day and after pushing and pulling and turning and unplugging and recabling and whatnot... I have MIDI input going into Sonar from my controller (Edirol PCR800). I can see it in the track view. I have no idea what I did to get that... no idea.
Now...... I see it but I don't HEAR it!!!!!!!!!
Are my monitors connected? Yes. I'm using the TTS-1 soft synth for this experiment and when I push the "preview" button on the TTS-1, the sample comes blaring out of my monitors.
My MIDIsport out is connected to my soundcard (Delta 66) via a 15 pin connector that is routed through my Omni i/o (M-Audio).
My Edirol controller's out is connected via MIDI cable to the MIDIsport "A" in port.
So... the controller is sending data to the MIDI interface and it's getting into Sonar but it's not getting to my soundcard?
What's really frustrating about all this is the fact that I had all this working when I first got it and then while trying to figure out how to operate my software through the PCR800 controller, I screwed around with so many different things... I lost it.
GGGRRRRRRRRR!!!!
Okay... so why can't I hear what I recorded with TTS-1???????

Thanks for your patience with this donkey.
S~
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Spanky
Silver Member

USA
557 Posts

Posted - 12/03/2007 :  02:01:19 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Oh... one other small thing that may or may not be of any significance... I can't hear my metronome either. Tried to set up a "click track". Tried checking the "use audio metronome" box and also tried checking the "use MIDI note" box. Nada.
I've just had three shots of tequila and I'm going back in "the studio" now.
S~
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

garrigus
Moderator

USA
14510 Posts

Posted - 12/04/2007 :  08:50:47 AM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Spanky,

Sounds like things are messed up a bit... exactly what MIDI interface and sound card are you using and what connections do they have?

Also, have you tried connecting the Edirol via USB rather than with MIDI?

Scott

--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://www.garrigus.com
* Cakewalk SONAR Video Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/ScottGarrigus?sub_confirmation=1
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Publisher of the DigiFreq music recording newsletter: http://www.digifreq.com/
* Publisher of the NewTechReview consumer tech newsletter: http://www.newtechreview.com/
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

djones
Member

87 Posts

Posted - 12/04/2007 :  10:00:56 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am sorry to hear that others spend their "music time" messing around with the technology. But this, as Michael would say, is the life we have chosen.

I spent about twenty minutes the other day with the same symptom: no sound. Turns out there is a knob on my FA-66 right below the OUTPUT knob, and somewhere along the line I had turned it all the way to the right for more output. What I had really done is call for no signal from the computer. So no sound at all.

Point is, could be something silly instead of something more complicated. A thru switch, a monitor button/knob, something on that sound module (though only related to SOME sounds coming from the computer, i.e. you DO get sound from the TTS) OR it something different between the output settings for the TTS track (that works) and the MIDI track(s) that don't.

Obvious, eh? But I'll bet when you figure this out, and you will, it will have been something obvious. My PCR-800 works fine, but I go through what you're going through probably once a week--always something different, and always something silly (but fatal).

My fond hope: there will be a day that I have enough experience with this (wonderful, I mean it) technology that I can actually work on some music.

Take a deep breath, and hold the tequila for celebration...it typically doesn't help my problem solving abilities, though God knows I've given it every chance.


Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Spanky
Silver Member

USA
557 Posts

Posted - 12/04/2007 :  10:56:34 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Edirol PCR800 USB MIDI controller
M-Audio Omni i/o
M-Audio Delta 66
M-Audio MIDI Sport 4X4
H/P Pentium D
Event PS 6 monitors
Sonar 6 Producers Edition

Hi Scott,
I've tried connecting the PCR800 via USB only and also with MIDI cable...
current connections:
USB from PCR to computer.
USB from computer to MIDIsport interface.
Delta 66 soundcard is connected from computer via a 15 pin connector to the Omni i/o which is a router type interface that also controls audio.
Also have a MIDI cable out from PCR to in of MIDIsport.
Monitors are plugged into Omni i/o.
Like I said... the MIDI demo's in Sonar do play but any MIDI input I put into a track I can't hear... I see it but can't hear it.

Thanks for your time and patience.
S~
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page
Page: of 3 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topics List
All Forums
Unofficial Manufacturer Forums
Cakewalk Music Software
MIDI controller - no sound again
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Next Page
Jump To:
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq - Forums © 1999-2017 by Scott R. Garrigus. All Rights Reserved. Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000
DigiFreq: Home | MusicTechShop | Downloads (Free Music Software) | Videos | Music | Tips | Articles | Newsletter (FREE) | Deals | Gift Shop | Issues | Recommend | News | Reviews | Discuss (Forums) | Contest | RSS Feed

DigiFreq is for informational purposes only. - Disclosure Statement