DigiFreq: Home | MusicTechShop | Downloads (Free Music Software) | Videos | Music | Tips | Articles | Newsletter (FREE) | Deals | Gift Shop | Issues | Recommend | News | Reviews | Discuss (Forums) | Contest | RSS Feed
SONAR X3 Power! - The Comprehensive Guide
*** Win a FREE SoundTech Vocal Trainer Package... Click Here! ***
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq - Forums
Home | Profile | Register | New Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 New Topics List
 All Forums
 Unofficial Manufacturer Forums
 Cakewalk Music Software
 Sonar X1 Installation
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Fccfirstclass
New Member

USA
1 Posts

Posted - 05/28/2011 :  11:14:01 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  [Reply to Topic]  | [Reply w/ Quote]
retweet
Share
submit to reddit
Hi Scott. Congrats on your new book Sonar X1 Power.

I see you recommed a 3 hard disk (3 spindals) install of X1. Is it best to put the program on #1?

Also, Do I need to be careful of the plugin directory from Sonar 8.5 and use it or should I create a new directory for plugins (Dx and VST)? I plan on keeping 8.5 on the computer.

Thanks



You sound so nice!

Edited by - Fccfirstclass on 05/28/2011 11:17:06 AM
Report to Moderator

garrigus
Moderator

USA
10232 Posts

Posted - 05/29/2011 :  10:40:42 AM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Clinton,

Thanks! I hope you're enjoying the book.

Yes, 3 drives will give you the best performance if you use any software synths that do disk streaming during playback.

Drive C: Put Windows and all software (including plug-ins) here.
Drive D: Put project and audio files here.
Drive E: Put streaming sample libraries here. But only the sample files. Put the actual plug-ins on the C drive.

Cakewalk uses a shared directory for DX plugs and you can't do anything about that. So if you install X1 and then remove 8.5, you may lose some of the older plug-ins. So it's best to just keep 8.5 installed.

VST plug-ins can be put anywhere you like. I keep a separate directory for those, but if you already have one, you might as well just use it. You don't need a new one.

Scott


--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://garrigus.com - SONAR X3 Power! - http://garrigus.com/?SonarX3Power
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar ProAudioTutor video tutorial series: http://garrigus.com/?ProAudioTutor
* Publisher of the DigiFreq free music technology newsletter: http://digifreq.com/?DigiFreq
* Publisher of the NewTechReview free consumer technology newsletter: http://newtechreview.com/?NewTechReview
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

billh
Member

USA
28 Posts

Posted - 08/05/2011 :  10:35:26 AM  Show Profile  Visit billh's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Scott and Clinton,

I like Scott's suggestion to get the audio samples onto a separate spindle. I'll try that, soon, but I'm already certain it's good.

But I think the "system" spindle could be improved. I still find Windows 7, like all previous MS OSs a little kludgy, so I would make 2 partitions on the 1st physical disk spindle.

The C: drive, the system and 1st partition on the 1st spindle, takes the Windows install and the Program Files folder there is used for system maintenance utilities like TweakUI or partitioning tools. The 2nd partition on the system spindle, probably the D: drive, is used for non-system programs and data. My Cakewalk programs and tools like Vegas Studio or Photoshop get installed into a Programs folder there.

Then the 2nd spindle becomes the E: drive, the 3rd partition on the computer, for Cakewalk projects and other data needing more protection from system anomalies. The 3rd spindle and 4th partition, the F: drive here, would hold the streaming data of all kinds.

The two partitions on the 1st disk, the C: and D: drives, make it a little easier to manage saves and restores. In my case, once the C: drive is working as I like, I make a partition save and avoid doing system updates so my big, essential system save remains stable and ready for restore. As I add data to the D: drive I make small saves of it as needed. I can't prove it, but I feel that the little extra protection of system programs from other programs and vice versa, helps a lot.

Bill H
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

garrigus
Moderator

USA
10232 Posts

Posted - 08/06/2011 :  09:28:35 AM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Bill,

Thanks for sharing that extra info about how you setup your system drive.

Scott


--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://garrigus.com - SONAR X3 Power! - http://garrigus.com/?SonarX3Power
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar ProAudioTutor video tutorial series: http://garrigus.com/?ProAudioTutor
* Publisher of the DigiFreq free music technology newsletter: http://digifreq.com/?DigiFreq
* Publisher of the NewTechReview free consumer technology newsletter: http://newtechreview.com/?NewTechReview
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Courtney
Member

66 Posts

Posted - 08/21/2011 :  7:38:18 PM  Show Profile  Visit Courtney's Homepage  Reply with Quote

Yes, 3 drives will give you the best performance if you use any software synths that do disk streaming during playback.

Drive C: Put Windows and all software (including plug-ins) here.
Drive D: Put project and audio files here.
Drive E: Put streaming sample libraries here. But only the sample files. Put the actual plug-ins on the C drive.

Hi Scott...I tried to use Dim Pro for the first time and I think my installation may have gone a little haywire. The Vst Plugins are on Drive C: and I put the Multisamples for Dim Pro on Drive E: and they are not relating to the plug-in. I can't get a sample to sound from the browser and when I drag the sample into the clip pane I get an error message that says "Multisample Not Found". Any suggestions?
Thank you.


Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

garrigus
Moderator

USA
10232 Posts

Posted - 08/22/2011 :  10:58:41 AM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Courtney,

Did you specify the sample location during the installation? You can't just move them by copying/pasting the files/folders with Windows Explorer.

Scott


--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://garrigus.com - SONAR X3 Power! - http://garrigus.com/?SonarX3Power
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar ProAudioTutor video tutorial series: http://garrigus.com/?ProAudioTutor
* Publisher of the DigiFreq free music technology newsletter: http://digifreq.com/?DigiFreq
* Publisher of the NewTechReview free consumer technology newsletter: http://newtechreview.com/?NewTechReview
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Courtney
Member

66 Posts

Posted - 08/22/2011 :  2:28:51 PM  Show Profile  Visit Courtney's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Did you specify the sample location during the installation? You can't just move them by copying/pasting the files/folders with Windows Explorer.

I did a custom install and thought I specified the multisamples to be stored there. Is there a way to specify the link? Or do I need to uninstall and re-install to try it again?
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

garrigus
Moderator

USA
10232 Posts

Posted - 08/23/2011 :  08:41:35 AM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hmmm... that should have worked. A reinstall should also do it or you could try editing the Windows registry. I haven't tried it before, but the following keys correspond to the Dim Pro sample locations...

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Cakewalk Music Software\dp

At that key location, look for the value called Multisamples Folder. That needs to point to the parent folder containing the Multisamples folder.

Scott


--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://garrigus.com - SONAR X3 Power! - http://garrigus.com/?SonarX3Power
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar ProAudioTutor video tutorial series: http://garrigus.com/?ProAudioTutor
* Publisher of the DigiFreq free music technology newsletter: http://digifreq.com/?DigiFreq
* Publisher of the NewTechReview free consumer technology newsletter: http://newtechreview.com/?NewTechReview
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Courtney
Member

66 Posts

Posted - 08/23/2011 :  10:22:22 PM  Show Profile  Visit Courtney's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by garrigus

Hmmm... that should have worked. A reinstall should also do it or you could try editing the Windows registry. I haven't tried it before, but the following keys correspond to the Dim Pro sample locations...

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Cakewalk Music Software\dp

At that key location, look for the value called Multisamples Folder. That needs to point to the parent folder containing the Multisamples folder.







THANK YOU! That did it! Mucho appreciato! BTW...I am really enjoying the format of your new book...larger pages. Makes the font seem larger too but it prob isn't...it's just easier on the eyes. ;-)
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

garrigus
Moderator

USA
10232 Posts

Posted - 08/24/2011 :  12:09:34 PM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Excellent! Glad to hear that worked. I'll have to remember that for future reference.

And thanks very much! Everyone seems to be enjoying the new larger book format. Myself included...

Scott


--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://garrigus.com - SONAR X3 Power! - http://garrigus.com/?SonarX3Power
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar ProAudioTutor video tutorial series: http://garrigus.com/?ProAudioTutor
* Publisher of the DigiFreq free music technology newsletter: http://digifreq.com/?DigiFreq
* Publisher of the NewTechReview free consumer technology newsletter: http://newtechreview.com/?NewTechReview
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

mcintalker
Gold Member

USA
1568 Posts

Posted - 11/14/2012 :  12:00:17 PM  Show Profile  Visit mcintalker's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I assume you would have to uninstall X1d first, before reinstalling and specifying the location of the samples.
1. Best way to uninstall X1d
I looked and I have 4.5gb of DimPro on C in CW already. I am looking over the site here for info on how to move that. I know I have seen it.
2. which is simpler/better? moving what I do have of Dim Pro or reinstalling?
Michael

ASUS ROG G74x laptop i7- 2.2ghz Win7HP 16gb (2)500gb 7200rpm +1Tb ext drive
Sonar X3e PE, Zeta2, BFD2+DV Zpack, GPO4, PSP VinWarm2+NobleQ+Pnoverb+Meters2, AAS EP4, IK TS3 Bndle,
Fishman 16+Spectrum, Tascam US1641, PreSonus MP20(BBopamps), IsaOne, X-Amp, Keymaster, Equator D5, Yorkville YSM-1, Fender Mustang Floor, SuperChampX2, Kurz K2500, Virus Ti2, (mics)CAD e100s, Kel Song Sparrow, Mojave MA200, Beyer M160, AKG C480b/uls, PV RAB1,+ AC+Elec.gtrs/bass/baritone/lapsteel/mandolins/+harmonicas(to bug the dogs+cats!)
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

garrigus
Moderator

USA
10232 Posts

Posted - 11/14/2012 :  5:56:59 PM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Michael,

No, you should be able to do an advanced install using your SONAR DVD and just install Dim Pro itself. Or if you have Dim Pro on it's own DVD, just install from that.

However, Dim Pro doesn't stream its samples, so there's really no need to move them. I would just keep them where they are and avoid the trouble.

Scott


--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://garrigus.com - SONAR X3 Power! - http://garrigus.com/?SonarX3Power
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar ProAudioTutor video tutorial series: http://garrigus.com/?ProAudioTutor
* Publisher of the DigiFreq free music technology newsletter: http://digifreq.com/?DigiFreq
* Publisher of the NewTechReview free consumer technology newsletter: http://newtechreview.com/?NewTechReview
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

mcintalker
Gold Member

USA
1568 Posts

Posted - 11/14/2012 :  6:03:32 PM  Show Profile  Visit mcintalker's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Thanks so much! I wanted the easy way out. When I do IK Studio Bundle 3 and GPO4 upgrade ( I don't have that on the new laptop, yet. GPO is on my old PC though I won't move it, I will upgrade and install that on the new laptop), those are streaming samples yes? And since I will be installing them, I will put them where I want them and not have to move them! Ah I am really enjoying the relief .... thanks again Scott
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

mcintalker
Gold Member

USA
1568 Posts

Posted - 11/14/2012 :  6:06:22 PM  Show Profile  Visit mcintalker's Homepage  Reply with Quote
So, it just occurred to me that I also have packs for Zeta ( which I assume I should upgrade to Zeta+2 first) and Rapture. Same as Dim Pro or not?
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

garrigus
Moderator

USA
10232 Posts

Posted - 11/14/2012 :  6:59:30 PM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I'm pretty sure GPO is streaming, but I don't know about IK Studio Bundle. But you might as well install them both on the other drive just in case.

Yeah, all the Cakewalk synths don't do streaming, so they can be installed on the same drive as Dim Pro.

Scott


--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://garrigus.com - SONAR X3 Power! - http://garrigus.com/?SonarX3Power
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar ProAudioTutor video tutorial series: http://garrigus.com/?ProAudioTutor
* Publisher of the DigiFreq free music technology newsletter: http://digifreq.com/?DigiFreq
* Publisher of the NewTechReview free consumer technology newsletter: http://newtechreview.com/?NewTechReview
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

mcintalker
Gold Member

USA
1568 Posts

Posted - 11/15/2012 :  10:26:41 AM  Show Profile  Visit mcintalker's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Thanks Scott. That confirms what I have been presuming. It's been a good morning with good news and this fits right in! Michael
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topics List
All Forums
Unofficial Manufacturer Forums
Cakewalk Music Software
Sonar X1 Installation
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Jump To:
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq - Forums © 1999-2014 by Scott R. Garrigus. All Rights Reserved. Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000
DigiFreq: Home | MusicTechShop | Downloads (Free Music Software) | Videos | Music | Tips | Articles | Newsletter (FREE) | Deals | Gift Shop | Issues | Recommend | News | Reviews | Discuss (Forums) | Contest | RSS Feed

DigiFreq is for informational purposes only. - Disclosure Statement