DigiFreq: Home | MusicTechShop | Downloads (Free Music Software) | Videos | Music | Tips | Articles | Newsletter (FREE) | Deals | Gift Shop | Issues | Recommend | News | Reviews | Discuss (Forums) | Contest | RSS Feed
*** Win FREE music recording software and hardware... Click Here! ***
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq - Forums
Home | Profile | Register | New Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 New Topics List
 All Forums
 Unofficial Manufacturer Forums
 Steinberg
 Steinberg Groove Agent 4
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Author  Topic Next Topic  

mcintalker
Platinum Member

USA
5703 Posts

Posted - 02/16/2016 :  09:22:04 AM  Show Profile  Visit mcintalker's Homepage  Reply with Quote  [Reply to Topic]  | [Reply w/ Quote]
I bought Steinberg's Groove Agent 4 over the weekend while it was half price(which was cheaper than upgrading from GA2 which I have) at $90.

It's been out a while, but since Otto also bought it, I figured we could start a thread here.

There are 4 Master tutorial videos on the 4 "Agents" that can be used inside of GA4. This is the first one on the "Acoustic Agent" from the ClubCubase YouTube channel.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9rwRc-QPZbI&list=PL2TEtji9YYLAc-qIwKXzkdLwU2KJdFG4E


The 4 Agents are Acoustic, 2 Beat Agents and the fourth is a Percussion Agent.

I downloaded it all (4 parts for Windows)and hope to install it today.

Anyone else have it?
Michael



i7 Win10 4790k 4Ghz 32gb DDR3+1Tb WD+2x2Tb Seagate, 2-24"BenQ, ASUS/ROG i7-2670QM 16gb laptop 2-500gb 7200rpm +1Tb-ext Win 10
SPLAT4Life, Melodyne Studio4, Mixbus3, Rapture Pro, Z3ta+2, BFD2+Zpack, GPO5, Groove Agent4, PSP(20), AAS GS2+ EP4, AmpliTube4, T-Racks Grand, ST3 + Miroslav2,
Fishman Aura Spectrum(2), Scarlett 18i20+OctoPre MkII, Tascam us1641, Warm Audio WA76+TB12(990C+), PreSonus MP20(BB opamps), ISA One, Gold Digger, Cherry Picker, X-Amp, Pigtronix Keymaster, Equator D5, Yorkville YSM-1, Fender Mustang Floor+Princeton Rev, Kurz K2500, Virus Ti2, CAD e100s, Kel Song Sparrow, Mojave MA200 + MA101fet, Beyer M160, AKG C480b/uls+CK61, PV RAB1,+ Alesis ControlPad +22 AC+Elec guitars-baritones-mandolins, bass, lap steels, banjo, fiddle+10 harmonicas to bug our dog+cats!
Report to Moderator

garrigus
Moderator

USA
13731 Posts

Posted - 02/17/2016 :  08:01:41 AM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
No sir, don't have it. I have too many drum apps already as it is... although I suppose there's always room for more.

Did you get it installed?

How does it sound?

--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://www.garrigus.com
* Cakewalk SONAR Video Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/ScottGarrigus?sub_confirmation=1
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Publisher of the DigiFreq music recording newsletter: http://www.digifreq.com/
* Publisher of the NewTechReview consumer tech newsletter: http://www.newtechreview.com/
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

mcintalker
Platinum Member

USA
5703 Posts

Posted - 02/17/2016 :  08:04:18 AM  Show Profile  Visit mcintalker's Homepage  Reply with Quote
There is a 3 part Tips and Tricks series from Steinberg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4pJMhKezgWI

and this 25 minute overview done at Sonic State, where the host asks the Steinberg guy all kinds of questions as they examine GA4 and compare it to other VSTs and earlier GA versions.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JJqouwG7JDA


I think I've installed it correctly, but cannot activate it. This is something to do with my usb dongle not going online, which I think has to do with my PC's privacy settings. The dongle doesn't show up on my PC as a storage device, but is working correctly for my Groove Agent 2 license. So, I'll report back as I explore that issue. I have both software iLOK and an e-Licenser(which I updated to latest last night but that didn't help), but am not that clear about why the dongle isn't going online for GA4 but is for GA2.

Back to it....

Michael
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

mcintalker
Platinum Member

USA
5703 Posts

Posted - 02/17/2016 :  08:13:26 AM  Show Profile  Visit mcintalker's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Talk about timely! The e-Licenser just got updated a few hours ago, right after I installed yesterday's "old" update!

It's not working yet, as I have to authorize/activate it and my dongle may be too old or not work with my MOBO's chipset. I'm reading up on that now.

Back soon! LOL
I certainly will report on it, ASAP, once I get the dongle sorted.

Michael
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

mcintalker
Platinum Member

USA
5703 Posts

Posted - 02/17/2016 :  08:46:41 AM  Show Profile  Visit mcintalker's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I went to Support at Steinberg and they're having a "temporary License Server outage" which should be fixed today!

"Due to technical issues, our license server is currently unavailable.
Therefore, product activations and other license transactions cannot be processed. "

So, maybe I don't have my PC settings wrong. That'd be good and maybe a lot simpler! LOL They can fix it for me. I'm good with that solution.

I suppose, if my dongle works for GA2, then it must be connected to the internet and the problem is at their end.

Michael

Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

garrigus
Moderator

USA
13731 Posts

Posted - 02/18/2016 :  07:26:15 AM  Show Profile  Visit garrigus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Yeah, it sounds like a problem on their end. Unless they say different, I don't think you'll need a new eLicenser dongle. There are two versions of the iLok dongle, but I think there's still only one eLicenser.

--
Scott R. Garrigus - http://www.garrigus.com
* Cakewalk SONAR Video Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/ScottGarrigus?sub_confirmation=1
* Author of the Cakewalk Sonar and Sony Sound Forge Power book series: http://garrigus.com/?PowerBooks
* Publisher of the DigiFreq music recording newsletter: http://www.digifreq.com/
* Publisher of the NewTechReview consumer tech newsletter: http://www.newtechreview.com/
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

mcintalker
Platinum Member

USA
5703 Posts

Posted - 02/18/2016 :  08:25:34 AM  Show Profile  Visit mcintalker's Homepage  Reply with Quote
This morning my e-Licenser worked and Groove Agent 4 is up and running. The first few things I tried were great and I'm very pleased, but now I have to learn to work it. It is quite a leap from GA2, but I'm happy to "suffer" learning.

So, you're right it was the Steinberg site being down, but now they are back in action and so am I!

More after I fiddle with it....

Michael
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page
   Topic Next Topic  
 New Topics List
All Forums
Unofficial Manufacturer Forums
Steinberg
Steinberg Groove Agent 4
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Jump To:
Scott R. Garrigus' DigiFreq - Forums © 1999-2017 by Scott R. Garrigus. All Rights Reserved. Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000
DigiFreq: Home | MusicTechShop | Downloads (Free Music Software) | Videos | Music | Tips | Articles | Newsletter (FREE) | Deals | Gift Shop | Issues | Recommend | News | Reviews | Discuss (Forums) | Contest | RSS Feed

DigiFreq is for informational purposes only. - Disclosure Statement